Minimum Standards for Single Agency Safeguarding Training

In addition to the Single Agency Introductory Safeguarding Training Checklist the West Yorkshire LSCPs have also developed and agreed a minimum standards checklist for single agency safeguarding training. These standards have been based on those produced by PIAT (Promoting Inter Agency Training).

The minimum standards checklist identifies what is expected with regards to how content of safeguarding training is informed and how it is delivered. It is the responsibility of the individual agency / organisation when auditing safeguarding training to ensure that these standards are met , and local LSCPs may request evidence as part of their role within ensuring the provision of high quality safeguarding training.

The checklist will be reviewed annually by the West Yorkshire LSCP Trainers Group and will be revised as required by any changes in guidance, legislation and best practice.

For further advice with regards to this checklist please contact the Training and Development Officer, on




Standard 1

All training is delivered by qualified or appropriately experienced/trained tutors.

Standard 2

All Safeguarding children training is linked to current and evolving local, regional and national standards

Standard 3

The training has clear aims and objectives and meet agreed learning outcomes – and has a positive impact in practice

Standard 4

The course is informed by current research, is evidence base and includes lessons from Serious Case Reviews + local and national policy and practice development.

Standard 5

Training materials are clear, accurate, relevant and up-to- date.

Standard 6

The training will be delivered by trainers who have knowledge and experience of safeguarding and who have completed Training the Trainers programme/professional equivalent (or have relevant training experience).

Standard 7

Training will be delivered in an environment which is conducive with learning and ensure all appropriate staff are given opportunity to attend.

Standard 8

All training creates an ethos that values working collaboratively with others, respect diversity (including culture, race, religion and disability) and promotes equality and appropriate challenge.

Standard 9

All training will be evaluated to ensure that standards are being maintained and that it enhances practice in the long and short term.

Standard 10

All training places the child at the centre and promotes the importance of understanding the child’s daily life experience.

Standard 11

All training encourages evidence of appropriate challenge.